YARNY GOODNESS

I am not one to who usually approves of wishing ones life away, however when it is the name of yarny goodness I believe I can make an exception! So, it is with much joy that I can tell you that it is a mere 100 days until I go to Yarndale!

Image

And, I’m not the only one who is excited!

Image

I was gutted that I couldn’t get to Yarndale – a “creative festival celebrating all things woolly and wonderful” – last year, so was overjoyed when my Crafting Guru, Claire from BTHQ, arranged a road trip for this year’s event. A whole, long weekend away with follow (somewhat crazy!) crafty folk from BTHQ, surrounded by yarny loveliness…bliss!

To ensure a truly pleasurable weekend, I have come up with a plan to guarantee some guilt free shopping – oh, yes, there will be shopping! I have decided to try and save up some pennies between now and then.  However, I am rather pants at saving…so many pretties to buy *sigh*…so will need some help. I found a post earlier in the year via Pinterest and it was so simple that it has frequently popped to mind.  I am going to use the theory behind the 52 Week Money Saving Challenge to help me save, save, save so that I can spend, spend, SPEND!

I will write a separate blog about exactly how I plan to use this fabulous savings plan, however, in the mean time I will share a little crafty twist that I am adding to it.  Rather than keep a physical jar of pennies in the house to encourage and motivate me while saving, I found another fabulous idea over on Pinterest – Sea Pennies!

Image

Inspired by this simple crochet pattern, my love of sea glass and the lovely Lucy of Attic24’s Coastal Blanket palette, I decided to finally use some of the gorgeous Rico Essentials Cottons that I bought at the Waltham Abbey Wool Show from ever colourful Janie Crow.

WAWS

Obviously those three, beautiful balls of loveliness weren’t quite enough, so I had to purchase a few more…

Colours

I may also have even more gorgeous colours saved on my wish list over at Janie Crow’s but we won’t mention that!

I plan to crochet lots of Sea Pennies to represent the actual pennies I am saving in my online Nationwide Savings Account  between now and Yarndale and then join them all together on the train journey up there so that I can show both Janie, who is exhibiting, and Lucy who is one of the key organisers of Yarndale while I am there!

So…would you like to see one? I know you would!! Here you go!

Underwater penny

Isn’t it lovely? So simple yet so beautiful, so like the sea glass that inspired me!

Oh and guess what arrived, rather appropriately, today? Yup, my Yarndale Cotton Bag! Woo hoo!

 

6 thoughts on “YARNY GOODNESS

Leave a Reply

