RITE OF PASSAGE

Well, that was fun! This evening I had the, erm, pleasure(?) of watching the sex education video that my ten year old will soon be seeing.

Immediately, I’m showing my age as I think of it as a video when it is in fact a DVD. To add to this, the cartoons and somewhat cheesy 1970 footage of Mr and Mrs X making whoopie have been replaced by CGI images that where far more detailed than I had anticipated, making me feel somewhat prudish! All this, whilst sitting in the school hall surrounded by fellow parents and teachers…why did no one warn me of this?!

I obviously knew that, at some point, I would have to have the talk with my children but in none of the practice runs of this most awkward of chats that I’ve played through my mind did I anticipate a practically 3D image of boys and girls bits would be a visual backdrop to our conversation!!

Equally, although I obviously knew there was a video DVD, I hadn’t anticipated that I would be viewing it with people who I’ve seen twice a day, every week day for 36 weeks of the year for the last five years!! All in all, I think we all did very well, considering!

Unfortunately, we also got to see part two of the DVD which will be shown to them next year. In this section we not only get to see, thanks to more CGI, a simulation from penetration to conception but the footage of an actual birth of a baby – head crowning, delivery, the lot!

Needless to say, after such an enlightening yet somewhat traumatic rite of passage, I think a large one is most definitely deserved!!

20140522-235044.jpg

Leave a Reply

